Hosted By

The Australasian Wound & Tissue Repair Society (AWTRS) and the Matrix Biology Society of Australia and New Zealand (MBSANZ) are two leading scientific societies focused on the fundamental biological and biochemical mechanisms involved in wound healing and tissue repair and their application in the clinic, as well as the roles of the extracellular matrix in biology and pathology.

It is with great pleasure that we announce that the 12th Pan Pacific Connective Tissue Societies Symposium in conjunction with the scientific meetings of the AWTRS and MBSANZ will be held in Melbourne in November 2020.  The meeting will be at the University of Melbourne, which is in the heart of the prestigious and internationally renowned Biomedical Precinct that delivers outstanding patient care, cutting edge research and fundamental discoveries and training of some of the country’s brightest minds, leading to significant economic value to Victoria and Australia.

This website will be kept up to date with all the latest news about the symposium program, speakers, registration, abstract submission and much more, so please bookmark this page for future reference. We very much look forward to welcoming you to Melbourne in November 2020.

Invited Speaker Profile

Doctor Patricia Rousselle is research director at the National Centre for Scientific Research (CNRS) in France and her lab « Cell / microenvironment cross talk and tissue repair » belongs to the Tissue Biology and Therapeutic Engineering Department at the Institute of Protein Biology and Chemistry in Lyon – which is one of the major centres in France specialising in the extracellular matrix and tissue repair fields of research. She is president of the French Society for Matrix Biology and member of the board of Directors of the European Tissue Repair Society (ETRS). She is the conference chair of the 19th ETRS annual meeting (http://etrs2020.univ-lyon1.fr/fr). Her research is focused at understanding cell / extracellular matrix interactions in the context of skin biology. Developing both biochemical and cell biology approaches, her group is interested in analysing molecular and cellular processes occurring during wound repair. Her recent work has focused on the interactions of basal keratinocytes with extracellular matrix components during the reepithelialisation phase of wound repair.

Conference Chairs
Professor John Whitelock, University of New South Wales, Sydney
Dr Brooke Farrugia, The University of Melbourne

Organising Committee
A/Professor Larisa Haupt, Queensland University of Technology
A/Professor Pritinder Kaur, Curtin University
Dr Zlatko Kopecki, University of South Australia
A/Professor Megan Lord, University of New South Wales Sydney